Leadership Training

What Even is a Mentor??????

Being a mentor is something that honestly seems so complicated to me. What do I do with a mentee? When do I feed it? Water it? Take it for walks??? Okay I’m not that crazy but really like what does a mentor do? My mentor was literally everything for me. She was my best friend, my mom, my academic advisor, my personal counselor, etc. etc. I don’t really know how to be that.

After going through the mentor workshop, I realized one thing: you just have to be what your mentee needs. I was a disaster; I needed Morgan to be my lifeline. My mentee may need me to be their lifeline or they may just need me to be a cheerleader. Whatever it is that your mentee needs, that’s what your role as a mentor is. It doesn’t matter if you want to be best friends and take them everywhere and do everything with them, it is up to your mentee whether that is the relationship that they want. The catch is, you have to be the one to figure out what they want. You have to reach out to them and give them all of the tools to have access to the mentor they need and want. Really and truly, what I took away from the Mentor Workshop in LDR200L is that it is not about you anymore; it is about them.

Another realization that I had is that you can still get the mentor experience that you want even if it is not the mentee experience that your mentee wants. You can be a mentor to everyone. Maybe your mentee does not need you in the way that you want them to need you, but another mentee may need you the way that you want to be needed. You can be a mentor to everyone, not just your mentee. I think this is important to remember because you can get the experience that you want while also being the mentor that your mentee needs.

Leave a Reply

