Leadership Education

HST110: Leaders in American History

As a Leadership Advancement Scholar, it is apart of my protocol to take classes made specifically for leadership students which focus on the adding leadership content into a university class. As my freshman year is beginning to come to a close, I am finishing up a few of these leadership courses. One of the courses that we were required to take second semester as a freshman year is HST110WIL; American Experience.

This class focuses on history in America and specifically the different leaders that made a difference in America. This was a really cool experience because you really got to see the different ways that people were leaders. When you think of leaders in America, I think most peoples mind would jump to presidents; Abraham Lincoln, George Washington, Teddy Roosevelt, and many more. What this class really made so much more obvious to me is that there are so many more leaders in America than just presidents. I always knew this but this class made it so obvious; you do not have to be the president of something to be a leader within that group. This was my main take away from this class.

Don’t get me wrong, the president is important; they are the president for a reason. HST110 just helped me apply the idea that everyone is a leader, and that you can be a leader under the power of someone who is in higher position than you as well. I have always known this but being able to see real life examples of people who aren’t labeled ‘The President of The United States of America’ that make just as big, if not bigger, impacts on this country.

Sojourner TruthAs stated before, this was a writing intensive class (fun, I know). Our major papers were based on leaders in American History. We were asked to read a book about  a famous American Leader and write a paper that tells about what they did, why it was important, and what kinds of results there were from your leaders actions. The two people that I chose to write about were Sojourner Truth and Ruby Bridges. I found this to be beneficial because again you could see more specifically that leaders don’t all have the title, they don’t always look like the stereotypical leader, and they don’t always have it easy. Sojourner Truth and Ruby Bridges were both leaders in America at a time when many American’s didn’t even view them as humans. These reports emphasized a few things for me:

  1. It takes one drop of water to start a flood
  2. Not everyone will always agree with you
  3. Things may not go always go your way; that doesn’t mean you should stop
  4. Once you meet reach your goals, make bigger ones

Outside of all of the amazing knowledge of American History that I absolutely love learning about *sarcasm*, these four things are the major ideas that I have taken away. I hope that as a leader, when I am stuck in a situation that I don’t feel like a leader, where I don’t have anyone following me, things aren’t going more way, or I just feel like I’ve ‘done enough’ I hope that I think back to these four things that I have learned throughout this class. I also hope to share these ideas and leaders that I have studied with others so that they may take away their own perspective and inspiration from leaders in America.

The Ruby Bridges Story – Canon 7D from Andy Gallacher on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

