Leadership Education

“Enter a Learner…”

Tomorrow LAS class of 2020 will hit the buses to head to Detroit for a service learning trip. We will have the opportunity to facilitate activities for younger leaders, volunteer for different businesses in the Detroit area, and get to explore the city of Detroit.

Compared to my classmates I truly feel like I do not know much about Detroit at all. I have been downtown for a Tigers game and maybe a few concerts here and there but other than that I’ve never seen much and do not know a lot about the city. From what I’ve heard stereo-typically, Detroit is scary and dangerous. Whenever I’ve gone to Detroit my friends and family have always said “we don’t want to get lost in Detroit” in a bad manner as if that would be dangerous. From what I’ve learned in the past few days just from hearing about the things that have been discussed in our Leadership class and within my cohort, people love Detroit. There are so many amazing and beautiful places to visit and honestly I’m so conflicted. How could we go somewhere where people are so scared yet also so amazed by its beauty? I have heard about the social issues of poverty, violence, and racism in Detroit being at all time highs and to be blatantly honest I’m so curious to see what this is all about. I don’t know much about these issues in Detroit specifically but from all of the buzz I can only imagine that it has to be more extreme than what I’ve personally seen before.

detrit-2

Within the Leadership Institute here at CMU, there is one main purpose and vision for the students, staff, and community that is affected by us:

“PURPOSE: Central Michigan University is committed to preparing Michigan’s students and citizens for leadership roles in an increasingly complex and challenging society.”

“VISION: The Leadership Institute prepares the next generation of individuals who will act responsibly to improve the quality of life, state of the economy, and communities in which they live and work.”

Our trip to Detroit is a great example of how the Leadership Institute includes the purpose and vision of the LI in the daily lives of its students. Going to Detroit and experiencing all of these new businesses and communities that many have us did not really know existed will open our eyes and prepare us for the real world. Already I am realizing that things aren’t the same everywhere; in fact they are very different. I personally have never experienced or seen a prime example of racism or poverty and I am hoping this service trip will open my eyes too all of the things that this complex and challenging society that we live in has to offer to emerging leaders like my classmates and myself. Being in Detroit will also allow us to leave our own personal impact on Detroit. We will not be able to save Detroit in 30 hours; this we are aware, but being able to go and leave a mark and realize that even though we aren’t changing the world we are making a difference which is just as important is a very important thing for us to see and learn. Realizing that if we all work to make the small changes in our own community and lives around us, big things happen. I think that this trip works to make an impact on our lives as leaders just as much as the lives that we are impacting while on this trip.

Overall I think that this trip is going to be one of the most impactful things on myself that I have ever done. I think that going to Detroit will open my eyes to so many things in our world that I didn’t realize truly existed in the daily lives of Americans. I think that this trip will help me realize how much still needs to be done in this world and in our own communities in general. I think that this trip will make me realize that each of our small contributions truly make a difference. The motivation that I get from this trip will be outstanding. I think that the skills and knowledge that I gain from this trip will be one of a kind and something that I will use for the rest of my life.

detroit

Leave a Reply

