Leadership Education

How Great Leaders Inspire Action

My recommendation before reading this blog is to watch the video that I have posted above. While I plan to give you my perspective on this video I think that what everyone takes away from this is different and the same all at one time therefore it is important to watch and see what different things you take away from this TED Talk.

The first thing that I took away from this video was the discussion on why we follow the people we follow. Why are certain people leaders? While I’m sure that there is more to it than just this, Sinek discusses that we follow who we follow because we know why they are doing something. We agree with their reasoning or relate to their situation. We did not follow Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. because he told us he had a dream, we followed him because he told us why he had this dream. In the same situation, we do not buy a dell mp3 player but we buy Dell computers because Dell has constantly advertised their computers and why we should buy their computers. Ultimately, it is not what you’re doing that matters, it is why you do it.

While watching this Ted Talk it reminded me of my previous post discussing whether leadership starts with a yes or a no; it doesn’t matter if you pick yes or no it matters why you pick yes or no.

In our Leadership 200 class, we partnered up and talked about our own whys. Why are we passionate about the things that we do and what drives us to get out of bed in the morning. My partner was one of my best friends, Lucas. Lucas is a goofy kid and honestly I didn’t know how well this was going to go. Turns out Lucas knows a lot about me that I didn’t even realize about myself. Lucas told me that from what I said, I ultimately do everything to make others happy. I just want to see other people smile. I found that literally every thing I do I do because it means that someone else will have fun or be happy because of it which ultimately makes me happy. I find the most joy in seeing others smile.

I then listened to Lucas talk about his passions and what he cares about and it was so crazy to me to realize that when you look at it from the “why” perspective, literally EVERYTHING we do pretty much ties back to that one reason. For me it is to make people happy, for Lucas it was to be an escape for people and make them realize everything is going to be okay no matter what. From here, we discovered our “why” statements.

My “why” statement is to inspire others to find the beauty in everything and seek the things that make them happy. This is why I do what I do. This is my goal as a leader. From now on, when I take on any new endeavor or even get frustrated with something I am already doing, I will come back to this why statement. I will remember why I am here and what my goal is. My goal is to make people happy from there I can evaluate to see if I am reaching this goal and what I need to achieve it.

img_6785

Leave a Reply

