Uncategorized

My Person

For anyone who doesn’t already know, “my person” is a term from Grey’s Anatomy to describe the bond between two people that literally nothing could break. Everyone has a person. Whether or not you’ve found them yet, there is someone out there who (I’m sorry, but….) you are inevitably stuck with. You cannot get rid of them. They are a part of you. Your person is much more than the friend you occasionally keep in touch with or the person that you reach out to when you need something. She is more than your friend, or even your best friend, she is more like your sister. You may not have known her the longest but you certainly know her the best. Ultimately you would go completely insane without her.

Dear “my person”,

Thank you. I do not say it enough, but thank you. Thank you for making me laugh at things I don’t even think are funny simply because you’re the one who showed it to me and somehow that makes it funnier (I wish I could explain this, but if you have a person, you know what I’m talking about). Thank you for making me food whenever I’m hungry because God knows I would be living off of easy mac and apples if it weren’t for you at this point. Thank you watching endless hours of Grey’s Anatomy with me when we both have better things to be doing. Thank you for being my personal eyebrow pluck-er, nail do-er, and hair/clothing stylist. Thank you for being there through it all — the good, the bad, and the really ugly. When I was going through some of my worst days you were there. You didn’t even really have to say anything. I wasn’t looking for some incredible pep talk or some life changing advice; simply having you by my side was enough to lift me up when I was at my weakest was all I needed. Thank you for staying my best friend even after seeing how weird I am… and you are welcome for staying your friend after seeing how much even more weird you are. Thank you for staying by my side when everyone else was leaving. Thank you for telling me what I needed to hear even when it wasn’t what I wanted to hear. Thank you for never judging me. Thank you for teaching me that imperfections make us perfect. Thank you for showing me the kind of person I want to be. Thank you for being my best friend, my sister, my other half, my person.

 

Now with the sappy stuff aside, I just want to remind you: You are stuck with me. One of the biggest struggles I’ve learned since you walked into my life is that ultimately doing anything without you-for a lack of better words-sucks. No matter what it is, you are always down to do the craziest things with me that nobody else would ever dare. You are my fun friend, my secret keeper, and my partner in crime. If I could predict anything about my future I would put money on you and I ending up in a nursing home laughing about the crazy things that we have done while drinking wine and making other people question any sanity that we actually have left.

“Dr. Yang and my wife sometimes have sleepovers. In my bed. With me in it.”

In the end, Allie, I could never put into words how much you mean to me. No phrase from a mainstream ABC series could explain the relationship we have and that is what makes it so genuine and innocent. Thank you for being the Christina to my Meredith. Thank you, thank you, thank you for being my person.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

